Dépôts à terme

Dépôts à terme

Faites votre choix parmi une gamme de placements sûrs qui sauront répondre à vos besoins financiers.

Optez pour les dépôts à terme de la HSBC et investissez sans souci, grâce à un taux de rendement garanti et des options souples.

Term Deposit Rates Terms Interest Redeemable Full details

Dépôt à terme en dollars canadiens

TAUX CONCURRENTIELS

DURÉES VARIÉES

INTÉRÊTS CALCULÉS QUOTIDIENNEMENT

PLACEMENT REMBOURSABLE

Détails
Caractéristiques et principaux avantages
  • Ayez l’esprit tranquille et investissez sans souci
  • Accédez à vos fonds en toute souplesse avant l’échéance1
  • Faites votre choix parmi une gamme de durées – de 30 jours à 5 ans
  • Obtenez un taux de rendement garanti
Détails supplémentaires
  • Placement minimal de 1 000 $ ou de 5 000 $ selon la durée choisie
  • Intérêts calculés quotidiennement et payés à la fréquence que vous avez choisie2
  • Aucun versement d’intérêts si le placement est remboursé avant l’échéance1
  • Option de renouvellement automatique3
  • Admissible à l’assurance de la SADC4
  • Pour en savoir plus sur les durées inférieures à 30 jours, communiquez avec la HSBC

Les taux peuvent changer sans préavis. Pour obtenir des renseignements ou connaître les taux en vigueur, veuillez communiquer avec une succursale de la HSBC.

Prochaines étapes

Pour en savoir plus

Vous êtes un nouveau client de la HSBC

Téléphonez sans frais au
1-888-310-4722

Succursales

1Remboursable avant l’échéance sans versement d’intérêts.
2Intérêts calculés quotidiennement, non composés et payés à la fréquence que vous avez choisie (mensuelle, semestrielle, annuelle ou à l’échéance).
3Lorsque vous achetez votre dépôt à terme, vous pouvez demander qu’il soit renouvelé automatiquement. À moins d’avis contraire de votre part avant l’échéance, nous réinvestirons automatiquement votre dépôt (le capital seulement ou le capital et les intérêts gagnés) au taux d’intérêt en vigueur à la date du renouvellement. Cette mesure vise à maximiser la croissance de votre épargne. Pour connaître l’admissibilité de votre dépôt à terme à l’option de renouvellement automatique ainsi que les restrictions qui s’y appliquent, communiquez avec votre succursale de la HSBC.

4Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada
Certains comptes et produits de dépôt de la HSBC sont admissibles à une assurance en vertu de la Loi sur la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC) jusqu’à concurrence d’un certain montant. Pour en savoir plus sur la SADC et sur le fonctionnement de l’assurance-dépôts :
●Consultez le site http://www.sadc.ca/Pages/default.aspx
●Lisez la brochure «Protection de vos dépôts». Vous pouvez la télécharger sur le site de la SADC ou en commander un exemplaire auprès de notre service de soutien des Services bancaires par Internet en composant le 1-877-621-8811.
Veuillez noter que certains produits, tels que les comptes en devises étrangères, ne sont pas admissibles à l’assurance-dépôts de la SADC.

 

Dépôt à terme en dollars américains

TAUX CONCURRENTIELS

DURÉES VARIÉES

INTÉRÊTS CALCULÉS QUOTIDIENNEMENT

PLACEMENT REMBOURSABLE

Détails
Caractéristiques et principaux avantages
  • Placez des fonds en dollars américains à un taux d’intérêt fixe pour une durée déterminée
  • Ayez l’esprit tranquille et investissez sans souci
  • Accédez à vos fonds en toute souplesse avant l’échéance1
  • Faites votre choix parmi une gamme de durées – de 30 jours à 1 an
  • Obtenez un taux d’intérêt concurrentiel
Détails supplémentaires
  • Placement minimal de 5 000 $
  • Pour en savoir plus sur les durées inférieures à 30 jours, communiquez avec la HSBC
  • Intérêts calculés quotidiennement, non composés et versés à l’échéance2
  • Aucun versement d’intérêts si le placement est remboursé avant l’échéance3
  • Option de renouvellement automatique3
  • Non admissible à l’assurance de la SADC

Les taux peuvent changer sans préavis. Pour obtenir des renseignements ou connaître les taux en vigueur, veuillez communiquer avec une succursale de la HSBC.

Besoin d’aide?

Téléphonez sans frais au
1-888-310-4722

Trouver une succursale

1Remboursable avant l’échéance sans versement d’intérêts.
2Intérêts calculés quotidiennement, non composés et versés à l’échéance.
3Lorsque vous achetez votre dépôt à terme, vous pouvez demander qu’il soit renouvelé automatiquement. À moins d’avis contraire de votre part avant l’échéance, nous réinvestirons automatiquement votre dépôt (le capital seulement ou le capital et les intérêts gagnés) au taux d’intérêt en vigueur à la date du renouvellement. Cette mesure vise à maximiser la croissance de votre épargne. Pour connaître l’admissibilité de votre dépôt à terme à l’option de renouvellement automatique ainsi que les restrictions qui s’y appliquent, communiquez avec votre succursale de la HSBC.

4Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada
Certains comptes et produits de dépôt de la HSBC sont admissibles à une assurance en vertu de la Loi sur la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC) jusqu’à concurrence d’un certain montant. Pour en savoir plus sur la SADC et sur le fonctionnement de l’assurance-dépôts :
●Consultez le site http://www.sadc.ca/Pages/default.aspx
●Lisez la brochure «Protection de vos dépôts». Vous pouvez la télécharger sur le site de la SADC ou en commander un exemplaire auprès de notre service de soutien des Services bancaires par Internet en composant le 1-877-621-8811.
Veuillez noter que certains produits, tels que les comptes en devises étrangères, ne sont pas admissibles à l’assurance-dépôts de la SADC.
Si vous prévoyez convertir le capital et les intérêts courus sur le dépôt à terme en devise étrangère, ou l’inverse, à l’échéance, ces montants seront soumis aux fluctuations des taux de change. Par exemple, si vous prévoyez convertir votre dépôt à terme en dollars canadiens à la fin de la durée, cela pourrait présenter un risque, car entre le moment où vous effectuez le placement et le moment où vous en recevez le paiement, la devise étrangère pourrait s’être dépréciée par rapport au dollar canadien. À l’échéance, vous pouvez décider de renouveler votre dépôt à terme en devise étrangère, au taux en vigueur à la date du renouvellement. Sinon, plusieurs options s’offrent à vous : le montant peut être déposé directement dans un compte d’épargne s’il est offert dans la devise du placement; le remboursement peut être effectué par traite bancaire dans la devise du placement; le montant peut également être converti en dollars canadiens et déposé dans un compte auprès de la Banque HSBC Canada; ou encore il peut être converti dans une autre devise (en dollars américains, par exemple) dans laquelle la Banque HSBC Canada offre un compte d’épargne et déposé dans ce compte.

 

Dépôt à terme en devises étrangères

TAUX GARANTI

DURÉES VARIÉES

INTÉRÊTS CALCULÉS QUOTIDIENNEMENT

PLACEMENT NON REMBOURSABLE

Détails
Caractéristiques et principaux avantages
  • Obtenez un rendement garanti sur vos fonds en devises étrangères
  • Choisissez parmi les principales devises – dollar australien ou de Hong Kong, euro, livre sterling et renminbi*
  • Faites votre choix parmi une gamme de durées – de 30 jours à 1 an
Renseignements supplémentaires
  • Placement minimal de 50 000 $CA (ou l’équivalent)
  • Pour le renminbi, placement minimal de 5 000 $CA (ou l’équivalent)
  • Intérêts calculés quotidiennement, non composés et versés à l’échéance
  • Placement non remboursable
  • Non admissible à l’assurance de la SADC1

Les taux peuvent changer sans préavis. Pour obtenir des renseignements ou connaître les taux en vigueur, veuillez communiquer avec une succursale de la HSBC.

Besoin d’aide?

Téléphonez sans frais au
1-888-310-4722

Trouver une succursale

1Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada
Certains comptes et produits de dépôt de la HSBC sont admissibles à une assurance en vertu de la Loi sur la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC) jusqu’à concurrence d’un certain montant. Pour en savoir plus sur la SADC et sur le fonctionnement de l’assurance-dépôts :
●Consultez le site http://www.sadc.ca/Pages/default.aspx
●Lisez la brochure «Protection de vos dépôts». Vous pouvez la télécharger sur le site de la SADC ou en commander un exemplaire auprès de notre service de soutien des Services bancaires par Internet en composant le 1-877-621-8811.
Veuillez noter que certains produits, tels que les comptes en devises étrangères, ne sont pas admissibles à l’assurance-dépôts de la SADC.

*Un compte en renminbis ne permet pas d’effectuer des dépôts ou des retraits en espèces. Toutes les remises doivent être traitées par voie électronique dans des comptes de dépôt, et des frais de transfert s’appliquent à tout transfert effectué à partir du compte de dépôt ou vers ce dernier. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la brochure «Frais de gestion s’appliquant aux comptes de particuliers».

Si vous prévoyez convertir le capital et les intérêts courus sur le dépôt à terme en devises, ou l’inverse, à l’échéance, ces montants seront soumis aux fluctuations des taux de change. Par exemple, si vous prévoyez convertir votre dépôt à terme en dollars canadiens à la fin de la durée, cela pourrait présenter un risque, car entre le moment où vous effectuez le placement et le moment où vous en recevez le paiement, la devise pourrait s’être dépréciée par rapport au dollar canadien. À l’échéance, vous pouvez décider de renouveler votre dépôt à terme en devises, au taux en vigueur à la date du renouvellement. Sinon, plusieurs options s’offrent à vous : le montant peut être déposé directement dans un compte d’épargne s’il est offert dans la devise du placement. Le remboursement peut être effectué par traite bancaire dans la devise du placement, sauf pour ce qui est du renminbi. En effet, dans le cas des dépôts à terme en renminbis, les dépôts et retraits en espèces et les traites bancaires sont interdits. Les transferts de fonds à partir d’un dépôt à terme en renminbis et vers un tel dépôt à terme doivent être traités par l’entremise d’un compte de dépôt (par ex., un compte d’épargne en renminbis ou un compte d’épargne ou un compte-chèques en dollars canadiens). Les fonds en renminbis peuvent être transférés dans un compte d’épargne en renminbis, par transfert télégraphique ou par transfert entre comptes. Le montant peut également être converti en dollars canadiens et déposé dans un compte auprès de la Banque HSBC Canada; ou encore il peut être converti dans une autre devise (en dollars américains, par exemple) dans laquelle la Banque HSBC Canada offre un compte d’épargne et déposé dans ce compte.

 

Dépôt à terme CELI

INTÉRÊTS À L’ABRI DE L’IMPÔT

TAUX CONCURRENTIELS

SÉCURITÉ

PLACEMENT REMBOURSABLE

Détails
Caractéristiques et principaux avantages
  • Obtenez des intérêts à l’abri de l’impôt et faites fructifier votre argent plus rapidement1
  • Obtenez un taux d’intérêt concurrentiel
  • Accédez à vos fonds en toute souplesse avant l’échéance2
  • Faites votre choix parmi une gamme de durées à court ou à long terme – de 30 jours à 5 ans
Détails supplémentaires
  • Dépôt minimal de 1 000 $ pour les options de versement d’intérêts une fois l’an ou deux fois l’an
  • Dépôt minimal de 5 000 $ pour les options de versement d’intérêts tous les mois ou à l’échéance
  • Intérêts calculés quotidiennement, non composés et payés à la fréquence que vous avez choisie3
  • Aucun versement d’intérêts si le placement est remboursé avant l’échéance2
  • Option de renouvellement automatique4
  • Admissible à l’assurance de la SADC
Besoin d’aide?

Téléphonez sans frais au
1-888-310-4722

Trouver une succursale

1 Seuls les résidents du Canada qui ont atteint l’âge de la majorité et qui possèdent un numéro d’assurance sociale valide peuvent cotiser à un compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI). L’âge de la majorité est de 19 ans à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en Colombie-Britannique, dans les Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest, au Yukon et au Nunavut, ce qui peut retarder l’ouverture d’un CELI. Cependant, l’accumulation des droits de cotisation commence dès l’âge de 18 ans pour les résidents de ces provinces. Les cotisations annuelles à un CELI sont assujetties à des limites. Règle générale, la valeur des droits de cotisation pour une année donnée correspond à la somme des droits de cotisation au CELI inutilisés de l’année précédente, des retraits effectués dans le cadre du CELI l’année précédente et du plafond de cotisation au CELI pour l’année en cours. Depuis 2016, le plafond de cotisation annuel au CELI est de 5 500 $ (comparativement à 5 000 $ de 2009 à 2012, à 5 500 $ en 2013 et 2014 et à 10 000 $ en 2015). Vos droits de cotisations annuels sont établis pour l’ensemble des CELI que vous détenez auprès de la HSBC et de tout autre établissement financier. L’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) fera le suivi de vos droits de cotisation. Pour connaître le montant de vos droits de cotisation, utilisez la fonction «Mon dossier» sur le site Web de l’ARC (www.cra-arc.gc.ca/mondossier). Si le plafond de cotisation n’est pas dépassé et que les cotisations sont faites pendant que le détenteur du compte est résident du Canada, les revenus réalisés dans un CELI ne sont généralement pas assujettis à l’impôt canadien, mais ils pourraient être assujettis à l’impôt d’un autre pays. Les cotisations excédentaires au CELI sont imposables et assujetties à des intérêts et des pénalités fiscales. Contrairement au REER, les cotisations au CELI ne sont pas déductibles d’impôt.

Les renseignements fournis ne doivent en aucun cas être considérés comme des conseils professionnels et ne peuvent être utilisés à cette fin. La HSBC ne fait aucune garantie ni représentation et n’accepte aucune responsabilité quant au traitement fiscal de ces services. Pour en savoir plus sur le CELI et sur la façon dont il s’inscrit dans votre situation financière, communiquez avec votre conseiller fiscal personnel.

2Remboursable avant l’échéance sans versement d’intérêts.

3Intérêts calculés quotidiennement, non composés et payés à la fréquence que vous avez choisie (mensuelle, semestrielle, annuelle ou à l’échéance).

4Lorsque vous achetez votre dépôt à terme, vous pouvez demander qu’il soit renouvelé automatiquement. À moins d’avis contraire de votre part avant l’échéance, nous réinvestirons automatiquement votre dépôt (le capital seulement ou le capital et les intérêts gagnés) au taux d’intérêt en vigueur à la date du renouvellement. Cette mesure vise à maximiser la croissance de votre épargne. Pour connaître l’admissibilité de votre dépôt à terme à l’option de renouvellement automatique ainsi que les restrictions qui s’y appliquent, communiquez avec votre succursale de la HSBC.

 

Assurez votre avenir grâce à un CPG au taux de rendement garanti


Pour en savoir plus

Term Deposits, Bank Term Deposits | HSBC Canada

Term Deposits

Choose from a range of secure investments to meet your financial needs

HSBC Term Deposits offer you a worry-free investment with a guaranteed rate of return and flexible options.

Term Deposit Rates Terms Interest Redeemable Full details

Canadian Dollar Term Deposit

COMPETITIVE RATES

VARIETY OF TERMS

DAILY INTEREST

REDEEMABLE

Full details
Key features and benefits
  • Enjoy the peace of mind of a worry-free investment
  • Have the flexibility to redeem prior to maturity1
  • Choose from a range of terms, from 30 days to 5 years
  • Earn a guaranteed rate of return
Additional details
  • Minimum investment of $1,000 or $5,000 required, depending upon the selected term
  • Interest calculated daily and paid at your chosen interval2
  • If redeemed prior to maturity, no interest is paid1
  • Automatic renewal option3
  • Eligible for CDIC Insurance
  • For terms less than 30 days, please contact HSBC for details

Rates are subject to change without notice. For information and to confirm most recent rates, please contact any HSBC branch.

How to Apply

Existing HSBC customer

Log on to Personal Internet Banking and select "Open Online"

Log On

New to HSBC

Call toll-free
1-888-310-4722

Visit a branch

1Redeemable prior to maturity with no interest paid.
2Interest is calculated daily, not compounded, and is paid at the interval as opted by you (which may be monthly, semi-annually, annually or at maturity).
3You can opt into our automatic renewal option when purchasing your term deposit. If you don’t notify us before maturity, we will automatically re-invest your deposit (either the principal only or principal and any interest earned) at the interest rate applicable on the date of renewal, to help maximize the growth of your savings. Consult your HSBC branch regarding any eligibility &/or restrictions with setting up an automatic renewal option on your term deposit(s).
4Canadian Deposit Insurance Corporation
Some HSBC accounts and deposit products up to certain dollar amounts are eligible for insurance under the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act (CDIC). Learn more about CDIC and how CDIC Deposit Insurance works:
● Visit http://www.cdic.ca/home/Pages/default.aspx
● Read "Protecting Your Deposits." Visit CDIC to download or contact our Internet Banking Support at 1-877-621-8811 to request a copy
Please note some products, such as foreign currency accounts, are not eligible for CDIC Deposit Insurance.

 

U.S. Dollar Term Deposit

COMPETITIVE RATES

VARIETY OF TERMS

DAILY INTEREST

REDEEMABLE

Full details
Key features and benefits
  • Invest U.S. Dollars at a fixed rate for a fixed period of time
  • Enjoy the peace of mind of a worry-free investment
  • Have the flexibility to redeem prior to maturity1
  • Choose from a range of terms from 30 days to 1 year
  • Receive a competitive interest rate
Additional details
  • $5,000 minimum investment
  • For terms less than 30 days, please contact HSBC for details
  • Interest calculated daily, not compounded, and paid at maturity2
  • If redeemed prior to maturity, no interest is paid3
  • Automatic renewal option3
  • Not eligible for CDIC Insurance4

Rates are subject to change without notice. For information and to confirm most recent rates, please contact any HSBC branch.

Need help?

Call toll-free
1-888-310-4722

Find a branch


1Redeemable prior to maturity with no interest paid.
2Interest is calculated daily, not compounded, and is paid at maturity.
3You can opt into our automatic renewal option when purchasing your term deposit. If you don’t notify us before maturity, we will automatically re-invest your deposit (either the principal only or principal and any interest earned) at the interest rate applicable on the date of renewal, to help maximize the growth of your savings. Consult your HSBC branch regarding any eligibility &/or restrictions with setting up an automatic renewal option on your term deposit(s).
4Canadian Deposit Insurance Corporation
Some HSBC accounts and deposit products up to certain dollar amounts are eligible for insurance under the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act (CDIC). Learn more about CDIC and how CDIC Deposit Insurance works:
● Visit http://www.cdic.ca/home/Pages/default.aspx
● Read "Protecting Your Deposits." Visit CDIC to download or contact our Internet Banking Support at 1-877-621-8811 to request a copy
Please note some products, such as foreign currency accounts, are not eligible for CDIC Deposit Insurance.
The principal and interest earned in the term deposit will be subject to changes in currency-exchange rates if you plan on converting into or out of a foreign currency at maturity. For example, if you plan on converting your term deposit into Canadian dollars at the end of the term, the principal and interest earned in your term deposit may be subject to risk if between the time that you invest and the time that you receive payment the foreign currency has declined in comparison to the Canadian dollar. You may choose to rollover your foreign currency term deposit upon maturity and receive the prevailing rate at the time of renewal. Should you choose a payout, there are a variety of options available to you: if a corresponding foreign currency savings account exists, the matured term deposit can be deposited into such account; or you can have a bank draft issued in the foreign currency amount; or convert the term deposit amount into Canadian dollars and deposit it into the corresponding deposit account with HSBC Bank Canada; or convert the term deposit amount into a foreign currency for which HSBC Bank Canada offers a savings account (for example US dollar accounts) and deposit it into such account.

 

Foreign Currency Term Deposit

GUARANTEED RATE

VARIETY OF TERMS

DAILY INTEREST

NON-REDEEMABLE

Full details
Key features and benefits
  • Earn guaranteed rates on your foreign funds
  • Choose from major currencies including Australian dollars, Euros, Hong Kong dollars, Great Britain Pounds and Renminbi*
  • Choose from a range of terms from 30 days to 1 year
Additional details
  • CAD $50,000 equivalent minimum investment
  • For Renminbi, CAD $5,000 equivalent minimum investment
  • Interest calculated daily, not compounded, and paid at maturity
  • Non-redeemable
  • Not eligible for CDIC Insurance1

Rates are subject to change without notice. For information and to confirm most recent rates, please contact any HSBC branch.

Need help?

Call toll-free
1-888-310-4722

Find a branch


1Canadian Deposit Insurance Corporation
Some HSBC accounts and deposit products up to certain dollar amounts are eligible for insurance under the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act (CDIC). Learn more about CDIC and how CDIC Deposit Insurance works:
● Visit http://www.cdic.ca/home/Pages/default.aspx
● Read "Protecting Your Deposits." Visit CDIC to download or contact our Internet Banking Support at 1-877-621-8811 to request a copy
Please note some products, such as foreign currency accounts, are not eligible for CDIC Deposit Insurance.

* Cash deposits or withdrawals are not permitted on the Renminbi Account. All remittances must be electronic into a deposit account and any transfer in and out of the deposit account may be subject to a transfer fee. Please refer to the Personal Service Charge Brochure for details.

The principal and interest earned in the term deposit will be subject to changes in currency-exchange rates if you plan on converting into or out of a foreign currency at maturity. For example, if you plan on converting your term deposit into Canadian dollars at the end of the term, the principal and interest earned in your term deposit may be subject to risk if between the time that you invest and the time that you receive payment the foreign currency has declined in comparison to the Canadian dollar. You may choose to rollover your foreign currency term deposit upon maturity and receive the prevailing rate at the time of renewal. Should you choose a payout, there are a variety of options available to you: if a corresponding foreign currency savings account exists, the matured term deposit can be deposited into such account; or you can have a bank draft issued in the foreign currency amount with the exception of Renminbi currency. For Renminbi Term Deposits, deposits and withdrawals of Renminbi in cash and bank draft are not allowed. Transfer of funds in and out of the Renminbi Term Deposits are required to process via a deposit account, e.g. a Renminbi savings account or a Canadian savings or chequing account. Funds in Renminbi can be transferred in to a Renminbi savings account through wires or inter-account transfers; or convert the term deposit amount into Canadian dollars and deposit it into the corresponding deposit account with HSBC Bank Canada; or convert the term deposit amount into a foreign currency for which HSBC Bank Canada offers a savings account (for example US dollar accounts) and deposit it into such account.

 

TFSA Term Deposits

TAX-FREE DAILY INTEREST

COMPETITIVE RATES

SECURE

REDEEMABLE

Full details
Key features and benefits
  • Earn tax-free interest on your deposit so your money grows faster1
  • Receive a competitive interest rate
  • Have the flexibility to redeem prior to maturity2
  • Choose short or long terms, from 30 days to 5 years
Additional details
  • $1,000 minimum for annual or semi-annual interest payments
  • $5,000 minimum for monthly or at maturity interest payments
  • Interest calculated daily, not compounded, and paid at your chosen interval3
  • If redeemed prior to maturity, no interest is paid2
  • Automatic renewal option4
  • Eligible for CDIC Insurance
Need help?

Call toll-free
1-888-310-4722

Find a branch


1 Only Canadian residents, who are over 18 years of age and have a valid Social Insurance Number, can make contributions to a Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA). The age of majority is 19 for residents of Newfoundland & Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, British Columbia, Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut, which may delay the opening of a TFSA. However, the accumulation of contribution room will start at age 18. Annual contributions to TFSAs are subject to specific limits. Generally, the maximum contribution room for a year is equal to the total of unused TFSA contribution room from previous years, distributions (withdrawals) from TFSAs made in previous years and the TFSA dollar limit for the year in question. As of 2016, the annual TFSA dollar limit is $5,500 (previous annual limits were $5,000 for 2009 to 2012, $5,500 for 2013 to 2014, and $10,000 for 2015). The maximum annual contribution applies to all of your TFSAs held with HSBC or any other financial institution. The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) will track your contribution room. The CRA reports this amount to individuals through the “My Account” function on the CRA web site (www.cra.gc.ca/myaccount). Provided that contribution limits are not exceeded and contributions are made while the account holder is a resident of Canada, income earned in a TFSA is generally not subject to Canadian taxes. Taxes of other countries may apply. Excess contributions to your TFSA are subject to taxes, interest and penalties. Unlike an RRSP, any money you contribute to a TFSA will not itself be tax-deductible.

The content herein is not intended to provide specific tax advice and should not be relied upon in this regard. HSBC makes no guarantee, representation, or warranty and accepts no responsibility or liability as to the tax treatment of these services. For full details about TFSAs and how they relate to your own income tax and financial situation, please consult your personal tax advisor.

2Redeemable prior to maturity with no interest paid.

3Interest is calculated daily, not compounded, and is paid at the interval as opted by you (which may be monthly, semi-annually, annually or at maturity).

4You can opt into our automatic renewal option when purchasing your term deposit. If you don’t notify us before maturity, we will automatically re-invest your deposit (either the principal only or principal and any interest earned) at the interest rate applicable on the date of renewal, to help maximize the growth of your savings. Consult your HSBC branch regarding any eligibility &/or restrictions with setting up an automatic renewal option on your term deposit(s).

The content herein is not intended to provide specific tax advice and should not be relied upon in this regard. HSBC makes no guarantee, representation, or warranty and accepts no responsibility or liability as to the tax treatment of these services. For full details about TFSAs and how they relate to your own income tax and financial situation, please consult your personal tax advisor.

 

Plan for your future with a guaranteed rate of return GIC investment


Learn more